Norwescon 35 May 25 Newsletter

NWC35 120525.pdf

Dublin Core


Norwescon 35 May 25 Newsletter


Norwescon 35


The 5/25/12 newsletter for Norwescon 35




May 25, 2012



Text Item Type Metadata


Norwescon 35 April 5-8, 2012 SeaTac, WA

Norwescon eNewsletter May 25, 2012

In This Issue

Awards Given at NWC35
Pre-register for NWC36
New hotel policy for NWC 36
Reserve a room for NWC36
PK Dick Award
Art Show Awards

Norwescon 35 Awards Recap

Each year Norwescon offers a number of events at which awards are presented. To see the listing of winners for the Masquerade, Art Show, Single Pattern Contest, etc. click here.

Pre-register for Norwescon 36

A full-membership for Norwescon 36 is $45 until August 31, 2012, at which time we anticipate a rate increase.

Norwescon 36 (2013) will be held on Easter Weekend, March 28 - 31, 2013, at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport.

Register online (pay online or by mail)

New Room Deposit Policy!

A change is coming in the way we reserve rooms for Norwescon. It is a significant change for our members but we believe it will help us make more convention rooms available for our members at the cheaper convention rate.

Starting with Norwescon 36, we have asked the DoubleTree to collect a one-night room deposit when the room is first reserved. This deposit will remain fully refundable until 90 days before the convention, which for next year would be Friday, December 28, 2012. By agreement with the hotel, all rooms cancelled by this date will be returned to the room block and made available for reservation by other Norwescon members.

Read more....

Norwescon 36 (2013) Hotel Reservations Open

Room reservations are open for Norwescon 36, March 28 - 31, 2013. Use the link below to register for your hotel room at the DoubleTree Hotel Seattle Airport.

Reserve a room for Norwescon 36, 1-night deposit due at reservation.

Join Our Mailing List

Thanks for Attending Norwescon 35!

If you missed the chairman's blog post a short time ago, you can read it here. We hope you had a wonderful time!

Philip K. Dick Award Presented

It was announced on Friday, April 6, at Norwescon 35, in SeaTac, Washington, that the winner for the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during 2011 in the U.S.A. is:


Special citation was given to:
THE COMPANY MAN by Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States.

read more . . .

Norwescon Art Show Awards

Norwescon's Art Show was a hotbed of activity with a small bidding war happening right before close. The sold stamps almost dried out. Our Judges worked hard to decide who should be honored this year. The art quality was some of the best that we have had. But, after much hair pulling, wrestling in the aisles and clipboard swings the honorees are:

Guest of Honor Award: Julie Baroh, for Peri
Best in Show: Kyle Abermethy, for 1 Timothy 2:8-15
First Place: Julie Baroh, for Peri
Second Place: Michael Duquette, for Time Skipper
Third Place: Rob Carlos, for Armageddon Dragon
Best Color: Jeff Sturgeon, for Martian Archway
Best Black & White: Katherine Leeds, for Winters Gift
Best Mixed Media: Aimee Stewart, for Sister Moon
Best 3-D: MacLeod Dragons, for Fishing
Best Jewelry: Gempunk Jewelry, for Time Bandit
Best Textile's: Elizabeth Fellows, for Emerald Dream

We are pleased to announce that Norwescon's scholarship goes to the Northwest College of Art and Design student, Leanne Dunn for Vulture Girl. A big thanks to our judges Don Lackey, Caroline Westra, and Mac Oros for their hard work and interesting wrestling moves.

The People's Choice Awards

Many thanks to Norwescon's Art Show members who voted for their favorite artists in many different categories. The judges were forced to make tie breaking decisions in two categories, Fantasy and Horror.

Best in Show: Michael Duquette, for Time Skipper
Best in Humor: Sarah Clemens, for Boneheads
Best Fantasy: Heather Hudson, for Remembering Spring (2nd Aimee Stewart, for Gypsy Firefly)
Best Horror: Amber Clark, for A Moment of Hope (2nd Matthew Hinshaw, for 'Traction' and 'Base of Change")
Best of Sci-Fi: Michael Duquette, for Time Skipper
Best Mixed Media or 3-D: Michael Duquette, for Time Skipper
Best Jewelry: Tiger Waddell, for Captured Time Necklace (2nd Gempunk Jewelry, for Aves)

Norwescon is a science, science fiction and fantasy convention that takes place on Easter Weekend each year. We are an all-volunteer organization and always have room for more dedicated volunteers. Without members, though, there would be no reason to hold a convention; thank you for your support.

Norwescon - PO Box 68547 - Seattle, Washington 98168



“Norwescon 35 May 25 Newsletter,” Norwescon History, accessed June 13, 2024,

Output Formats

Document Viewer